This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.9 Review Score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
8.7
Property Location
8.5
Facilities
8.4
Staff
9.6
Value
8.8
Reviews
    Miriam
    gb
    9.2
    February 5, 2018
    The cooked breakfast was excellent and the staff were really helpful. We asked for an extra heater and were given one immediately.
    Oxana
    ae
    10
    December 28, 2017
    Very clean, spacious room . Good hot shower, large parking space. Friendly manager.
    Thomas
    gb
    9.6
    November 28, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Pamela
    us
    10
    October 23, 2017
    Comfortable, relaxing & just wonderful.
    The one thing that can't be helped, there isn't an elevator - but at that price, and after experiencing their hospitality, I quickly got over it! Not to mention, they were nice enough to help me, so I didn't miss it.
    The staff of this gold mine are second to none, I initially statyed at a Holiday Inn Express & paid far more for far less, once I shopped around & found this location, I could shoot myself for not coordinating ahead of time. They personified hospitality, provide a warm, comfortable, safe environment, make breakfast to order from their menu, it was just awesome! It's not ultra modern; there isn't an elevator or room service, but if in Edinburgh you won't be staying in your room much, so it's no issue. I absolutely loved it & will stay there on my next trip to this fine city!
    Kim
    ca
    10
    October 6, 2017
    Kate and Martin were awesome. We enjoyed the atmosphere. Easy going, there to help if you needed it. Will stay here again if we return to Edinburgh. Good location, buses right in front of property and only about ten minutes or less from downtown
    Beth
    us
    6.7
    October 2, 2017
    Solo rooms can be awkward. It depends on what you are comfortable with.
    The proprietor was very nice, so I don't want to leave a negative review, but I also want to be honest in my review so it will be helpful to others. I was in a solo room, and it was uncomfortable for me. The room itself was small, but I hadn't realized how small. There was nowhere except the windowsill ledge to put all my clothes, and there was constant noise from the street. I knew going in that the bathroom was shared, and not en-suite, but I had not anticipated how far away from the room it would be, or that the shared bathroom would be so small and awkward. I actually found a different place to stay and left after one night.
    Grzegorz
    pl
    5.8
    September 2, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us
    9.2
    July 4, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us
    7.5
    June 28, 2017
    Probably a better experience in one of the other rooms.
    There was no shower stall so no matter how careful we were, water got everywhere. Also, the bathroom had a swampy smell to it. The room location wasn't great as it was right next to the main desk, espresso maker and dining room. Not a quiet place in the morning.
    The bed was comfortable and breakfast was really nice. The staff was very friendly.
    Donna
    us
    10
    June 21, 2017
    nothing
    The host was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was great, wonderful place to stay in. It was a great location for us when we visited Edinburgh. Nice and charming place!
    pl
    7.9
    June 14, 2017
    Quite a ways from the center (30mins on foot), but bus #23 takes you right to Princes street from the guesthouse. Shared bathroom very small and cramped
    Lovely staff, made me feel very cozy and wecome! Amaaaazing breakfast! Super cute neighborhood, stunning views of the city from the room
    lv
    6.7
    April 11, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    bryan
    gb
    9.6
    April 5, 2017
    Best guest house I've been in. Convient location and excellent breakfast.
    Ariana
    ar
    7.5
    March 29, 2017
    Great B&B
    The room was quite small
    The room had a great view
    Glen
    us
    10
    January 23, 2017
    Wonderful stay, great breakfast and stunning views of the castle!
    Martin is always a great host! Stayed here many times before and will again if I get the chance!
    Daryl
    us
    10
    January 18, 2017
    Nice accommodations with good access to the Castle area.
    The breakfast was awesome and prepared to order. Also, Martin and Kate were very friendly and helpful. All in all this was a great stay!
    Yuki C.
    nl
    8.3
    January 3, 2017
    Doors between rooms may not be so sound proof so when people next door talk late at night, ear plugs may be helpful.
    Although a little bit away from city centre,with several buses right in front of the guesthouse it's very convenient. Beautiful view from the window. Especially liked Kate who's running the place. Came out for my check-in when I arrived midnight and we had very pleasant tea time chat😁
    Carol
    us
    10
    September 12, 2016
    Single room could use more hooks for clothes.
    Loved Martin. Great rooms& breakfast. All questions & issues were shown immediate attention.
    susan
    gb
    9.2
    September 5, 2016
    Go again
    We had a room overlooking Edinburgh. Bus stop was only a couple of mins away.
    Rhonda
    au
    10
    August 6, 2016
    Loved it!
    Nothing.
    Martin and his team were fantastic. All went far beyond our expectations - nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean, comfy and a good size. Breakfast was delicious. Thanks Martin for your advice and knowledge not only of Edinburgh but also Scotland. We loved our stay at Garfield Guest House.
Loading reviews...
Close